Index of Articles published in Psychology of Popular Media Culture

http://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/ppm/ 2019 Volume 8 (1) January Editor’s introduction. Development and validation of the Problematic Media Use Measure: A parent report measure of screen media “addiction” in children. Nighttime notifications and compulsivity illuminate the link between emerging adults’ cellphone use and sleep-related problems. “Let me take another selfie”: Further examination of the relation between narcissism, self-perception,…

Committee Report: Popular Music Media Literacy for Middle School Students

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Lesley-Ann Ey University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia Lesley-Anne.Ey@unisa.edu.au Cougar Hall Brigham Young University Cougar_hall@byu.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@wq.edu.au The 2018 report of the Division 46 Task…

Devastation from the Inside

Stephanie Miodus, MA Temple University stephaniemiodus@gmail.com & Frank Farley, PhD Temple University frank.farley@temple.edu A Review of Parkland: Inside Building 12; Director: Charlie Minn Parkland: Inside Building 12 is a documentary about the devastating school shooting on February 14, 2018 at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida. As the movie title suggests, the shooting…

An Open Letter to Henry Golding: “Everybody Wants to Be Us” and “I Want a Divorce”

Mary Gregerson, PhD Heartlandia Psychology, Leavenworth, KS mary.gregerson@aol.com & Dowon Choi, MA Florida State University dowonchoe@gmail.com Reviews of Crazy Rich Asians, Director: John M. Chu and A Simple Favor, Director: Paul Feig Dear Henry, “Everybody wants to be us,” ad libs actress Meryl Streep’s Miranda Priestly in 2006’s The Devil Wears Prada. Henry, this classic…