Member News

Congratulations to our award winners:  Judy Kuriansky, Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Media Psychology & Technology; Paul Adachi, Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Media Psychology & Technology; Chrysalis Wright, Distinguished Early Career Professional Contributions to Media Psychology & Technology; Kelly Dillon, Student Dissertation in Media Psychology & Technology; and Keith Cooke, Presidential Citation for his outstanding contributions to the…

Institutional Reality Monitoring and the Problem of Fake News

Karen J. Mitchell West Chester University of Pennsylvania, USA kmitchell@wcupa.edu In the Spring/Summer 2017 The Amplifier Magazine, I reviewed how we might leverage what cognitive psychologists know about individual and interpersonal reality monitoring (Johnson, Hashtroudi, & Lindsay, 1993) to better understand how individuals assess the legitimacy of news sources and the veracity of news reports…

“Where My Boys At?” The Need to Examine How Portrayals of Men in Popular Music Impact Male Body Image and Self-Esteem

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Lesley-Anne Ey, Ph.D. University of South Australia Adelaide, Australia Lesley-Anne.Ey@unisa.edu.au Cougar Hall, Ph.D. Brigham Young University Cougar_hall@bye.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au A great deal of research has…

United Airlines: A Case Study in Using Social Media to Raise Awareness and Facilitate Institutional Change

Brian E. Kinghorn, PhD Marshall University kinghorn@marshall.edu On April 10, 2017, a 69-year-old ticketed United Airlines passenger was forcibly removed from his seat by police/security officers and then dragged off the airplane when he refused to give up his seat to accommodate some airline employees.  The incident was captured on cellphone videos that were subsequently…

Reflecting Cultural Youth Heroes and Lifestyles Worldwide circa 2017

Mary Gregerson, PhD Heartlandia Psychology, Leavenworth, KS mary.gregerson@aol.com Review of Wonder Woman; Review of Baby Driver Director: Patty Jenkins; Director: Edgar Wright What startling news the popular and critically acclaimed 2017 films Wonder Woman (WW) and Baby Driver (BD) cinematically convey for American boys and girls, and those worldwide as well!  Rotten Tomatoes, a respected…

The Motivational Pull of Television Dramas

Paul Adachi, PhD University of Rochester padachi@ur.rochester.edu Binge watching hit drama TV series seems to be a common practice these days.  Americans spend over 30 hours a week watching TV and dramas are among the most popular genres (Nielsen, 2012, 2017).  Although media psychologists have long been interested in why people watch TV, my colleagues…