Jack Ryan? Yes. Tom Clancy’s? Eh

Gregory F. (Greg) Zerovnik, EMBA, PhD California Institute of Advanced Management gzerovnik@verizon.net A review of Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan Were Tom Clancy still alive, how much would he recognize in this reincarnation of one of his most beloved fictional characters? Clancy’s original Jack Ryan, portrayed in film most memorably by Harrison Ford, has had his…

Short Films: Faster than a Speeding Bullet

Nancy DeVore, PhD Independent Researcher, Los Angeles ndevorepsych@gmail.com & Mary Gregerson, PhD Heartlandia Psychology mary.gregerson@aol.com Reviews of A Singe Life and The Box Directors for A Single Life: M. Blaauw, J. Oprins & J. Roggeveen Director for The Box: D. Kastelic Short films, like the superhero Superman, strike swiftly, deftly, and decisively. At 20 minutes…

Love’s Broken Arrow

Frank Farley, PhD Temple University, Philadelphia Frank.farley@temple.edu Mona Sarshar, PhD Temple University, Philadelphia tuf10665@temple.edu & Elisa K. Colchado, EdS CORA Services, Philadelphia ecolchado4@gmail.com A review of A Star is Born Director: Bradley Cooper A Star is Born is a remake (the 3rd one to date) of the 1937 original, and stars Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper.…

A Summary of the Task Force Report on the Sexualization of Popular Music

Members Chrysalis L. Wright, PhD University of Central Florida, Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier, PhD University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Lesley-Ann Ey, PhD University of South Australia Adelaide, Australia Lesley-Anne.Ey@unisa.edu.au Cougar Hall, PhD Brigham Young University Cougar_hall@byu.edu K. Megan Hopper, PhD Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton, PhD Macquarie University Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au…

Member News

Alan Entin’s photographs were exhibited on October 26 at artspace, Richmond, VA. Frank Farley, PhD, former President of APA and Division 46 was elected a Fellow of the International Association of Applied Psychology at its Convention in Montreal, Canada, June 2018. He also co-presented a session on Albert Ellis’s Legacy and Rational-Emotive Behavior Therapy with…

Index of Articles published in Psychology of Popular Media Culture

http://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/ppm/   2018 Volume 7 (3) July Editor’s introduction. A meaner, more callous digital world for youth? The relationship between violent digital games, motivation, bullying, and civic behavior among children. Learning to love guns? Gun-based gameplay’s links to gun attitudes. Play to win over: Effects of persuasive games. Reexamining differences between fandom and local sense…