President’s Column: Device Management and Intelligence

Joanne Broder Sumerson, PhD joannebrodersumerson@gmail.com Happy Spring and Summer!  Time flies by at record speed; I cannot believe I am already one third into my presidential term. Before we know it, we will all be together at the convention.  I am continuing some of the excellent work of our previous presidents and moving forward with…

Past President Column: Living a Life of Meaning in a Mediated World

Mary Gregerson, PhD mary.gregerson@aol.com Clad in a golden skating skirt and glittery top, award-winning figure skater Gracie Gold flew past, shirring ice in our direction as she triple looped. An overhead jumbo-tron broadcast such skaters’ gliding images at the 2017 U.S. Figure Skating Championships where our family celebration spread out members in rink-side seats. Comparing…

V. Krishna Kumar

From the Editor: The Art of Protesting

V. Krishna Kumar, PhD kkumar@wcupa.edu Gandhi was clear about how to protest; unfortunately his message of non-violence is not currently heeded even in his own country. On January 21, 2017, the Women’s March on Washington mobilized people around the world to protest peacefully after Trump was inaugurated as President of the United States of America. …

Reporting on Psychology

Audrey Hamilton Public Affairs Associate, American Psychological Association ahamilton@apa.org I may have begun my career in journalism, but I always found psychology fascinating. My first job after college almost 18 years ago was reporting for a local television station in a small city in Washington State. I was just a run of the mill general…

What I’ve Learned From Creating 75 YouTube Videos

Ali Mattu, PhD Columbia University Medical Center ali@thepsychshow.com Back in November of 2014, a patient showed me a YouTube video about bad habits. The video was going viral and my patient wanted to know if its advice was worth listening to. I was shocked to see how inaccurate the video was and how successful it…

“Media Smarts”: Examining Online Music Literacy

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au The American Academy of Pediatrics’ Council on Communications and Media (2009) has recognized that popular music plays an important role in the social…