Photo reproduced with permission of Lima Company Memorial.

Look Into The Eyes Of Freedom To See The Story

Bernard Luskin, Ed.D, LMFT Ventura County Community Colleges bluskin@vcccd.edu Serving the psychological needs of our nation’s 22.5 million veterans is a major challenge and obligation for us all. I have come to realize that “Media Psychology” is central in fostering communication, understanding, and support for veterans needs and opportunities. With 1.8 million veterans, California has…

Who Said It’s Fake News?

Karen J. Mitchell West Chester University of Pennsylvania kmitchell@wcupa.edu “Fake news.”  The term is used to refer to everything from satirical sources like the Onion to objective factual news reports in legitimate sources that people don’t care for and want to delegitimize.  Assessing a news source’s legitimacy and the content’s veracity is important.  How people…

Social Media: A Platform for Performance of Girlhood

Anna-Lena Jonsson-Cohen, BA Student Hunter College, The City University of New York annalenajc@gmail.com The rapid development of technology and emergence of smartphones and social media have drastically changed the lives of girls.  Their exposure to social media starts at a very young age and by teenage years has become their main source of communication and…

Editing PsycCRITIQUES–APA’s Journal of Book and Film Reviews

Danny Wedding, PhD American University of Antigua College of Medicine danny.weddding@gmail.com It has been a genuine privilege to serve as editor of PsycCRITIQUES (formerly Contemporary Psychology, and, after 1999, Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books) for the past twelve years (2005–Present).  I was the editor chosen to manage the transition from a paper journal (Contemporary…

Career Paths in Psychology: Media Psychologists

Pamela Rutledge, PhD, MBA Fielding Graduate University pamelarutledge@gmail.com The exciting inclusion of a chapter on Media Psychologists in the newly released third edition of APA’s Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can Take You, edited by Robert J. Sternberg is a testimony to the emergence of media psychology as vital field.  The expansion of…

Pokémon GO: How a Game for Capturing Pocket Monsters Captured the World’s Attention

Karla R. Hamlen, PhD Cleveland State University k.hamlen@csuohio.edu For years, people of previous generations have complained that millennials and new media consumers just stare at their phones. They’re lucky they don’t walk directly into oncoming traffic what with their Tweets, Vines, and Snapchatting. But in July 2016, Niantic, an American company affiliated with Google, teamed…

The Need for Music Literacy Education

Chrysalis L. Wright, PhD University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu K. Megan Hopper, PhD Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier, PhD University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Silvia Knobloch-Westerwick, PhD Ohio State University Knobloch-westerwick.1@osu.edu Mary Gregerson, PhD Mary.gregerson@aol.com & Dionne Stephens, PhD Florida International University stephens@fiu.edu With advances in technology and access to music from…