Career Paths in Psychology: Media Psychologists

Pamela Rutledge, PhD, MBA Fielding Graduate University pamelarutledge@gmail.com The exciting inclusion of a chapter on Media Psychologists in the newly released third edition of APA’s Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can Take You, edited by Robert J. Sternberg is a testimony to the emergence of media psychology as vital field.  The expansion of…

Pokémon GO: How a Game for Capturing Pocket Monsters Captured the World’s Attention

Karla R. Hamlen, PhD Cleveland State University k.hamlen@csuohio.edu For years, people of previous generations have complained that millennials and new media consumers just stare at their phones. They’re lucky they don’t walk directly into oncoming traffic what with their Tweets, Vines, and Snapchatting. But in July 2016, Niantic, an American company affiliated with Google, teamed…

The Need for Music Literacy Education

Chrysalis L. Wright, PhD University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu K. Megan Hopper, PhD Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier, PhD University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Silvia Knobloch-Westerwick, PhD Ohio State University Knobloch-westerwick.1@osu.edu Mary Gregerson, PhD Mary.gregerson@aol.com & Dionne Stephens, PhD Florida International University stephens@fiu.edu With advances in technology and access to music from…

Online and Community Support for Young LGBTQA Adults

Melina McConatha, PhD Lincoln University mmcconatha@lincoln.edu Research suggests that people in the LGBTQA community are at risk for loneliness and isolation given that the mainstream society often marginalizes them. As a result, LGBTQA youth are also at risk for such mental health issues as anxiety, depression, developing a distorted body image, and eating disorders (Johnson…

Washing Behind the Ears: Coming Clean With Corporate Disney

Sean P. Thoennes, PhD Walt Disney World Broadcast Productions Fielding Graduate University sthoennes@fielding.edu The Disney Institute sells a course to businesses teaching Disney’s unique management style that “makes the magic happen.” What they sell does have merit: an organic growth business model seeking input from each person, because each offers a unique viewpoint of “challenges”…

Human Rights and Refugee Access to Information

Janet de Merode Fielding Graduate University jdemerode@fielding.edu A political debate ignited in the United States recently over the issue of access to cell phones by refugees.   Access to a phone, it was argued, indicates financial means that are at odds with refugee status.  In response, digital rights activists argued that access to information, and thus…

Street Gangs and Social Media: A New Social Problem

Christopher J. Przemieniecki, PhD West Chester University of Pennsylvania CPrzemieniecki@wcupa.edu Street gangs have long been a problem for communities in the United States. Gangs create fear, terrorize neighborhoods, contribute to drug and sex trafficking problem, and recruit youth into crime and violence.  While street gangs have been around since the 1800s, the significance of the…