The Media Moment

Anita Foeman, PhD (with Bessie Lawton, PhD) West Chester University of Pennsylvania AFoeman@wcupa.edu A little more than a year ago, our Public Relations Director pitched a story to the Washington Post about a project that had been underway for more than a decade at West Chester University. In a time of toxic race relations, my…

Mutual Radicalization: A Danger We Can Overcome

Fathali M. Moghaddam, PhD* Georgetown University moghaddf@georgetown.edu I was in Tehran, Iran, in 1979 when Khomeini’s fanatical followers invaded the American Embassy and took 52 American diplomats as hostages. This illegal invasion was part of a long series of extremist events, which many Americans and Iranians saw as actually starting with the CIA orchestrated coup…

Working With Mainstream Media

Kim I. Mills Senior Communications Advisor, American Psychological Association kmills@apa.org On a trip to Costa Rica a few years ago, Ramani Durvasula, a psychology professor at Cal State, Los Angeles, took her daughters ziplining. While the group was getting set up, Durvasula noticed some people staring at her and then shyly asking if they could…

Institutional Reality Monitoring and the Problem of Fake News

Karen J. Mitchell West Chester University of Pennsylvania, USA kmitchell@wcupa.edu In the Spring/Summer 2017 The Amplifier Magazine, I reviewed how we might leverage what cognitive psychologists know about individual and interpersonal reality monitoring (Johnson, Hashtroudi, & Lindsay, 1993) to better understand how individuals assess the legitimacy of news sources and the veracity of news reports…

“Where My Boys At?” The Need to Examine How Portrayals of Men in Popular Music Impact Male Body Image and Self-Esteem

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Lesley-Anne Ey, Ph.D. University of South Australia Adelaide, Australia Lesley-Anne.Ey@unisa.edu.au Cougar Hall, Ph.D. Brigham Young University Cougar_hall@bye.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au A great deal of research has…

United Airlines: A Case Study in Using Social Media to Raise Awareness and Facilitate Institutional Change

Brian E. Kinghorn, PhD Marshall University kinghorn@marshall.edu On April 10, 2017, a 69-year-old ticketed United Airlines passenger was forcibly removed from his seat by police/security officers and then dragged off the airplane when he refused to give up his seat to accommodate some airline employees.  The incident was captured on cellphone videos that were subsequently…