Viral Teaching: Pandemic Psychology and Madness via Media, Some Tips

Stephanie Miodus, MA (stephanie.miodus@temple.edu); Stephanie Joseph, MA (tuj57388@temple.edu); Frank Farley, PhD (frank.farley@temple.edu); Ishwar Bridgelal, MA (tuj61248@temple.edu); & Catherine Duffield, MA (tuc00223@temple.edu) Temple University As the professor and graduate teaching assistants (TAs) for a large undergraduate course on the Meaning of Madness, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought widespread changes and uncertainty to teaching and instruction. The…

From Brick and Mortar to Online Classrooms: Using Participatory Action Research to Build Community and Foster Intentional Use of Technology

Mary Buckelew, PhD West Chester University of Pennsylvania mbuckelew@wcupa.edu “That year I made the most important discovery I have ever made about teaching: community in itself is more important to learning than any method or technique. When community exists, learning is strengthened—everyone is smarter, more ambitious, and productive. Well-formed ideas and intentions amount to little…

COVID-19 News Coverage

Chrysalis Wright, PhD University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu In the past several months, our society has been shifted and our usual way of life has been disrupted as a result of COVID-19 in the United States. The first confirmed case was in January of this year, with an increase in reported cases each day since.…

Self-Care Clickology in Stressful Times

Stephanie Joseph, MA stephanie.joseph0001@temple.edu & Frank Farley, PhD Temple University, Philadelphia frank.farley@temple.edu We are in a crisis! During these times, it is difficult to find our footing. We are struggling to be productive, to be present. Normally, during crises, we come together with our loved ones to push through the difficult times. However, with this…

Interdisciplinary Research on Cyber Security and Privacy

Robert W. Proctor and Isis Chong Purdue University rproctor@purdue.edu; ichongde@purdue.edu Aiping Xiong Pennsylvania State University axx29@psu.edu Cyber security and privacy are areas of concern not only to organizations but to individual end users. Computer scientists can devise algorithms and security measures that help protect organizations and systems from attack, but the success of these measures…

Media’s Role in Public Health: Suicide and Mass Shootings

Jared Boot PsyD Student, Michigan School of Psychology jboot@msp.edu The recent twin weekend shootings in El Paso and Dayton and the high-profile suicide of Jeffrey Epstein, have raised concerns over media depictions of mental illness and suicide. Mass media has an immense potential to positively or negatively impact health-related behavior and perception of individuals with…

Sex, Hypnosis and the Media

Steve K. D. Eichel, Ph.D., ABPP, CST Independent Practice Wilmington, Delaware steve@dreichel.com For many or most people, their first introduction to hypnosis will be through a movie or television show. Based on films from the 1950s and 1960s, I grew up thinking that hypnosis always involved inducing a somnambulant trance which can be induced unknowingly…

Celebrity: A State or a Trait?

Gayle S. Stever, PhD Empire State College/SUNY, Rochester, NY gayle.stever@esc.edu In most writings about celebrity, the word is used as a noun. A person is a celebrity. But what if we thought of celebrity, not as a noun, but rather as a characteristic of an individual? We could then talk about celebrity in the same…

Synesthetics, Semiotics, Semantics: The 3S Metaphor in Learning

Bernard Luskin, EdD, LMFT Wright Graduate University, Chicago, IL Bernie@LuskinInternational.com When synesthesia, semiotics and semantics converge, they form a 3S model that is central in brain-based learning. Synesthesia is the sensory element in the 3S model for learning, media and psychology. Semiotics brings the understanding and meaning of symbols. Semantics adds the cross-model infusion in…