Institutional Reality Monitoring and the Problem of Fake News

Karen J. Mitchell West Chester University of Pennsylvania, USA kmitchell@wcupa.edu In the Spring/Summer 2017 The Amplifier Magazine, I reviewed how we might leverage what cognitive psychologists know about individual and interpersonal reality monitoring (Johnson, Hashtroudi, & Lindsay, 1993) to better understand how individuals assess the legitimacy of news sources and the veracity of news reports…

“Where My Boys At?” The Need to Examine How Portrayals of Men in Popular Music Impact Male Body Image and Self-Esteem

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Lesley-Anne Ey, Ph.D. University of South Australia Adelaide, Australia Lesley-Anne.Ey@unisa.edu.au Cougar Hall, Ph.D. Brigham Young University Cougar_hall@bye.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au A great deal of research has…

United Airlines: A Case Study in Using Social Media to Raise Awareness and Facilitate Institutional Change

Brian E. Kinghorn, PhD Marshall University kinghorn@marshall.edu On April 10, 2017, a 69-year-old ticketed United Airlines passenger was forcibly removed from his seat by police/security officers and then dragged off the airplane when he refused to give up his seat to accommodate some airline employees.  The incident was captured on cellphone videos that were subsequently…

Reporting on Psychology

Audrey Hamilton Public Affairs Associate, American Psychological Association ahamilton@apa.org I may have begun my career in journalism, but I always found psychology fascinating. My first job after college almost 18 years ago was reporting for a local television station in a small city in Washington State. I was just a run of the mill general…

What I’ve Learned From Creating 75 YouTube Videos

Ali Mattu, PhD Columbia University Medical Center ali@thepsychshow.com Back in November of 2014, a patient showed me a YouTube video about bad habits. The video was going viral and my patient wanted to know if its advice was worth listening to. I was shocked to see how inaccurate the video was and how successful it…

“Media Smarts”: Examining Online Music Literacy

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au The American Academy of Pediatrics’ Council on Communications and Media (2009) has recognized that popular music plays an important role in the social…