The Mandela Effect & Scientific Denialism

Alexis S. Torres, BA, Graduate Student astorre6@asu.edu Gene A. Brewer, PhD gene.brewer@asu.edu Arizona State University Many of us have experienced vivid memories of an event from our personal past only to have the veracity of that memory challenged by coworkers, friends, or family.  Cognitive psychologists interested in memory have made tremendous progress over the past…

The Neurotechnology of Media Psychology Explained

Bernard Luskin, EdD, MFT Wright Graduate University BernieLuskin@gmail.com In June 2020, I published an article on psychologytoday.com about learning and media psychology.  In response to the article, I received many questions about the Neurotechnology of Media Psychology. In answering the questions online and to students in a Goddard College Master class in education, I explained…

The Black Lives Matter Movement and Children’s Television

Sara Brown, Undergraduate Student Arkansas State University sara.brown2@smail.astate.edu Children’s television has a responsibility to educate and keep its child viewers informed of the ever-evolving times in today’s society (Children’s Television Act of 1990). More households than ever before have access to TV, technology, and programs; consequently, children’s television has expanded its reach around the world…

Supporting Writing Faculty through Digital Transition: An Ecological Model

Michelle Blake mblake@wcupa.edu Shannon Mrkich smrkich@wcupa.edu & Thomas Pantazes tpantazes@wcupa.edu West Chester University of Pennsylvania Writing instruction at the collegiate level is not the sole domain of English or writing programs because each academic department has a responsibility to teach students to write well using the conventions of their discipline.  No matter the discipline, writing…

Anti-Racist and Social Justice-Oriented Apps: Clickology for the Greater Good

Stephanie Joseph, M.A., M.Ed. Temple University stephanie.joseph0001@temple.edu Stephanie Miodus, M.A., M.Ed. Temple University stephanie.miodus@temple.edu Frank Farley, Ph.D. Temple University frank.farley@temple.edu “What we say about race, what we do about race, in each moment, determines what—not who—we are” (Kendi, 2019). These inspiring words written by Ibram X. Kendi, a National Book Award Winner and best-selling author…

Viral Teaching: Pandemic Psychology and Madness via Media, Some Tips

Stephanie Miodus, MA (stephanie.miodus@temple.edu); Stephanie Joseph, MA (tuj57388@temple.edu); Frank Farley, PhD (frank.farley@temple.edu); Ishwar Bridgelal, MA (tuj61248@temple.edu); & Catherine Duffield, MA (tuc00223@temple.edu) Temple University As the professor and graduate teaching assistants (TAs) for a large undergraduate course on the Meaning of Madness, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought widespread changes and uncertainty to teaching and instruction. The…

From Brick and Mortar to Online Classrooms: Using Participatory Action Research to Build Community and Foster Intentional Use of Technology

Mary Buckelew, PhD West Chester University of Pennsylvania mbuckelew@wcupa.edu “That year I made the most important discovery I have ever made about teaching: community in itself is more important to learning than any method or technique. When community exists, learning is strengthened—everyone is smarter, more ambitious, and productive. Well-formed ideas and intentions amount to little…