Reporting on Psychology

Audrey Hamilton Public Affairs Associate, American Psychological Association ahamilton@apa.org I may have begun my career in journalism, but I always found psychology fascinating. My first job after college almost 18 years ago was reporting for a local television station in a small city in Washington State. I was just a run of the mill general…

What I’ve Learned From Creating 75 YouTube Videos

Ali Mattu, PhD Columbia University Medical Center ali@thepsychshow.com Back in November of 2014, a patient showed me a YouTube video about bad habits. The video was going viral and my patient wanted to know if its advice was worth listening to. I was shocked to see how inaccurate the video was and how successful it…

“Media Smarts”: Examining Online Music Literacy

Chrysalis L. Wright University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Megan Hopper Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Wayne Warburton Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia Wayne.warburton@mq.edu.au The American Academy of Pediatrics’ Council on Communications and Media (2009) has recognized that popular music plays an important role in the social…

Photo reproduced with permission of Lima Company Memorial.

Look Into The Eyes Of Freedom To See The Story

Bernard Luskin, Ed.D, LMFT Ventura County Community Colleges bluskin@vcccd.edu Serving the psychological needs of our nation’s 22.5 million veterans is a major challenge and obligation for us all. I have come to realize that “Media Psychology” is central in fostering communication, understanding, and support for veterans needs and opportunities. With 1.8 million veterans, California has…

From the Associate Editor: On Bringing Psychology to People

Kathryn Stamoulis, PhD kestamoulis@hotmail.com On Earth Day, April 22, 2017, hundreds of thousands of people participated in the March for Science in Washington, DC, and over 600 satellite locations around the globe. The main goals of these rallies were to emphasize the societal good science upholds, support scientists, and call for nonpartisan evidence-based governmental policy that…

Who Said It’s Fake News?

Karen J. Mitchell West Chester University of Pennsylvania kmitchell@wcupa.edu “Fake news.”  The term is used to refer to everything from satirical sources like the Onion to objective factual news reports in legitimate sources that people don’t care for and want to delegitimize.  Assessing a news source’s legitimacy and the content’s veracity is important.  How people…

Frank Farley class photo

The Horrific Doings of DID

  Frank Farley (ffarley@temple.edu), Madeleine Frazier, Jesse Gropper, Joseph Heidt, Anna Hirsch, Devin Houser, Sarah Hurd, Brandon Kane, Bradley MacDonald, Joshua Obidike, Fiona Riso, Codee Ross, Jasmine Speaks, Osi Sprowal, Keaton Tauer* A Review of Split (2017) Director: M. Night Shyamalan Hollywood seldom delivers an important and credible film focused explicitly on psychological theory or…