New year. 2016 being washed away 2017 coming.

President Elect’s Column: What’s Up for 2017

Joanne Broder Sumerson, PhD joannebrodersumerson@gmail.com I am excited and honored to serve as the forthcoming president of the Society for Media Psychology and Technology. I served as the Division’s Membership Chair for almost a decade, so my overall goal as your incoming President is to implement opportunities to help meet various membership needs.  My favorite…

Career Paths in Psychology: Media Psychologists

Pamela Rutledge, PhD, MBA Fielding Graduate University pamelarutledge@gmail.com The exciting inclusion of a chapter on Media Psychologists in the newly released third edition of APA’s Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can Take You, edited by Robert J. Sternberg is a testimony to the emergence of media psychology as vital field.  The expansion of…

Pokémon GO: How a Game for Capturing Pocket Monsters Captured the World’s Attention

Karla R. Hamlen, PhD Cleveland State University k.hamlen@csuohio.edu For years, people of previous generations have complained that millennials and new media consumers just stare at their phones. They’re lucky they don’t walk directly into oncoming traffic what with their Tweets, Vines, and Snapchatting. But in July 2016, Niantic, an American company affiliated with Google, teamed…

The Need for Music Literacy Education

Chrysalis L. Wright, PhD University of Central Florida Chrysalis.Wright@ucf.edu K. Megan Hopper, PhD Illinois State University khopper@ilstu.edu Francesca Dillman Carpentier, PhD University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill francesca@unc.edu Silvia Knobloch-Westerwick, PhD Ohio State University Knobloch-westerwick.1@osu.edu Mary Gregerson, PhD Mary.gregerson@aol.com & Dionne Stephens, PhD Florida International University stephens@fiu.edu With advances in technology and access to music from…

Online and Community Support for Young LGBTQA Adults

Melina McConatha, PhD Lincoln University mmcconatha@lincoln.edu Research suggests that people in the LGBTQA community are at risk for loneliness and isolation given that the mainstream society often marginalizes them. As a result, LGBTQA youth are also at risk for such mental health issues as anxiety, depression, developing a distorted body image, and eating disorders (Johnson…

Could Video Games Increase Visual Attention?

Sarah Eckstein, BS The University of Kansas s394e811@ku.edu Karthik Bonam, BS The University of Kansas kbonam@ku.edu Crystal Chilcoat, BS The University of Kansas crystal.chilcoat@gmail.com Hayley Barta, BS The University of Kansas hhume10@gmail.com Evangelia G. Chrysikou, PhD The University of Kansas lilachrysikou@ku.edu During the past decade, the video gaming industry has rapidly expanded across the world.…

A Brief Look at Telepsychology in the Age of the Internet

Sara L. Hancock, BS University of Central Missouri Shancock@ucmo.edu Kimberly S. Stark, PhD University of Central Missouri stark@ucmo.edu David S. Kreiner, PhD University of Central Missouri kreiner@ucmo.edu Many new technologies have contributed to the expanded use of the Internet, including the introduction of mental health services known as telepsychology (Clough & Casey, 2015, Maheu, Pulier,…